Block the emails from predatory publishers included in the Beall’s list – for academics

Friday night I got very excited because of an email. It was a call for papers! (yes, miserable life)

So, as usual – I checked the Beall’s list and as usual that publisher is in there.

I wanted to stop wasting time (and emotions) when this happens, so I created a filter for Gmail which I’m really happy of sharing . It will send to Junk Mail all the emails from senders whose domain is included in the Bealls’ list.

You can download the filter here [updated with 2017 Beall’s list]

 

If you already know how to import a spam filter in your email, you can stop reading – just apply it and please spread the word about this, if this helps you!

Otherwise, here is what I did on Gmail:
1. Download the file above
2. Click on the settings of your inbox
Open your gmail settings3. Open the Filters section, click on Import FiltersChoose the downloaded file and Open itClick on filters, choose the file and open it4. A long list of filters should be there (I had to split it because of some length limits). Check if you want to apply them to existing mail too (it doesn’t harm) and create the filter.
There should be a long list of domains. I had to split it as gmail has a limit for each search string(You can remove the file once filters have been created)

Hope this helps! Please share and follow for future updates!

One thought on “Block the emails from predatory publishers included in the Beall’s list – for academics

Leave a comment